Fabulous Flatbread

The other day I was at the market and decided to pick up a package of freshly baked flatbread.   Usually, I am more of a pita pocket kind of girl (and frankly if I am eating bread, I am most likely eating a baguette) but I decided to give it a try.

A friend of mine actually baked his own flatbread and in the process, he created the biggest mess in his kitchen probably to date.  Here is his recipe:

  • 3c flour
  • 1c water
  • 1.5tsp kosher/sea salt
  • 1-2tbsp olive oil

Mix in a bowl until uniform. Add in any extra things, if any (spices, etc). Grab a small ball of the dough, and hand knead it until silky. Stretch it much like a pizza dough, getting it pretty thin. Oil heatedfry pan / pot: cook until browned/grilled.

If you’re not into making complicated breads, and in my tiny apt. kitchen I simply do not have the room to create bread. So, for a modest $2.99, I will purchase my flatbread, heat it up and eat it with soup, smear some chunky peanut butter on them for an open faced sandwich or perhaps, slice some tomatoes and basil with a splash of olive oil for a delicious lunch.

Leave a comment