Ina Garten’s Chicken Salad is Amazing and so is She.

Sounds over the top and ridiculous, especially since I do not personally but it’s true: Ina’s chicken salad is amazing.  It’s easy to prepare, delicious and such a crowd pleaser.

In fact, I love Ina.  I do. It may be because she bares a striking resembelence to my adorable mother, but I think it also has something to do with her “Back to Basics” recipes. Great ingredients, not a lot of fuss, classy platings.

What’s her trick? Instead of poaching her chicken breasts in water, she roasts them. Split chicken breasts on the bone is important as well because the bone adds that extra flavor. Just season with olive oil, salt and pepper, roast on 375 for about an hour or until golden brown and juicy. This is the only cut of meat that I would consider eating again after my 8 years of a meatfree diet.

Next, let the chicken come to near room temperature (warm). Cube it and toss it in a bowl with diced, fresh celery. Add minced taragon, salt and pepper to taste. The taragon is the most wonderful, complimentary herb to chicken besides rosemary. Add in as much or as little mayo as you like: some people like their chicken salad swimming in Hellman’s; other’s like it dry.

The recipe is here. My boyfriend and his friends can vouch that it is one amazing sandwich to be had. I use toasted potato bread and some mescaline leaves to make a glorious, juicy chicken salad sandwich.

courtesy of foodtv.com

courtesy of foodtv.com

One Response to “Ina Garten’s Chicken Salad is Amazing and so is She.”

  1. There is obviously a lot for me to learn outside of my books. Thanks for the fantastic read,

Leave a comment